Skip to product information
1 of 5

Read With You

Sound Foundations 4: Let's Make a New Sound / Core Combinations

Sound Foundations 4: Let's Make a New Sound / Core Combinations

Regular price $16.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $16.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Sound Foundations provides linguist-designed sets for young readers mastering the alphabet.  Letter-sound correspondences are the first step to learning to read.  The seven boxes provide full coverage of core consonants, vowels, tricky digraphs, and blends.  New readers sound out their first words with the aid of beautiful, realistic photos and large print. 

This fourth set of ten books covers core letter combinations that students struggle to sound out even after mastering the individual letters.  Explicit practice with items like oo, ch, ck, th, and ng empowers students to fluently read words with unfamiliar vowels and tricky consonant combinations.  This targeted practice has been proven especially helpful with reluctant and second-language learners. 

In this series, the first three sets cover every letter.  The fourth and fifth sets focus digraphs and often-neglected sounds like final l.  The last two sets target blends, an essential final step that many reading programs skip.

Key reading skill focus: Alphabet
View full details